Out July 8th, 2016 Listen on Spotify

Omni is an Atlanta-born trio made up of guitarist Frankie Boyles (Deerhunter, Balkans) and ex-Carnivores members Philip Frobos (vocals/bass) and Billy Mitchell (drums). On their debut album—coming out on the young but reliable indie label Trouble in Mind—Omni isn't coy about their influences: Specifically post-punk from England (Magazine, Wire), Scotland (Josef K) and New Zealand (The Clean). But there are faint echoes of their previous bands too. "Omni's is a sound at once gloaming and crystalline; one that encapsulates the best of late 70s/early 80s jittery post-punk, but without muddying the waters via unnecessary pastiche," says Aquarium Drunkard. "And if that grabs you, it will likely be one of the better records you'll hear this year."

Coverage on music sites Official website
Get a premiere in your inbox each week, listen to full album below.

Loading ...
    Want to be the first to know about next week's premiere? Sign up!

    Records Recently Featured on Hype Machine

    All albums are selected by our team and featured free of charge. You can see the complete list of our premieres here.

    July 6th
    Pillars of the Eart…
    July 2nd
    Holy Wave
    June 29th
    Little Kid
    Transfiguration Hig…
    June 3rd
    C. Diab
    White Whale
    June 1st
    Discovery Zone
    Remote Control
    May 18th
    Harrington, Gustin…
    Tura Lura
    May 18th
    Memory Foam
    April 13th
    Zelma Stone
    March 30th
    Jeffrey Silverstei…
    You Become The Moun…
    March 16th
    Phantom Posse
    Forever Underground
    March 16th
    Ian William Craig
    Red Sun Through Smo…
    March 2nd
    Bleach Day
    as if always

    Hype Machine has been introducing the world to new music since 2005. We track music publications and present what they discuss for easy discovery on the iPhone, Android, and the web. These album premieres are our effort to highlight new releases we enjoy.